homeLogo enroll facebook twitter instagram linkedin youtube
staff login
In This Section

School Board Elections

School Board Elections

The Minneapolis School Board is made up of nine elected directors. Three are citywide and six from geographic districts, shared by the Minneapolis Park and Recreation Board. Election districts are different from school boundaries.

MPS contracts with the City of Minneapolis Elections and Voter Services Office to manage and run school board and referendum elections, including candidate filing and campaign finance reports. For more information, please visit vote.minneapolismn.gov.

There are five MPS school board seats on the 2022 general election ballot--three districted seats (1, 3, 5) and two at-large/citywide seats.


At-Large (Citywide):

  • KerryJo Felder
  • Collin Beachy (elected)
  • Sonya Emerick (elected)
  • Lisa Skjefte

District 1:

  • Abdul Abdi (elected)

District 3:

  • Fathia Feerayarre (elected)

District 5:

  • Lori Norvell (elected)
  • Laurelle Myhra